St John the Baptist Church: Morningthorpe

This is undoubtedly my favourite church. It is tiny, perfectly formed and just a haven of peace. I remember beautiful harvest festivals here, the church heaving with produce, every shade of the rainbow. It is my quintessential Norfolk church. This is where I wanted to get married, but sadly the church was not large enough to accommodate all the guests. I mentioned the fascinating pew doors in the last post; they still amaze me and when last visiting in 2009 I gently ran my hand over those little doors and nipped in closing it behind me, hugging myself with delight just as I did all those years ago.

It’s a funny old world isn’t it. If I was a modern-day anchoress like Julian of Norwich…this is the church that I would choose to have my cell attached to, without a shadow of a doubt.

St John the Baptist Morningthorpe

St John the Baptist Font to Altar

St John the Baptist Morningthorpe Altar

Looking from altar to font.

St John the Baptist Morningthorpe looking towards Font

The font

St John the Baptist Morningthorpe Font

And the beautiful cottage that sits right beside the church.

Cottage by Morningthorpe Church

3 thoughts on “St John the Baptist Church: Morningthorpe

Please Comment

